Homemade Sweet Pickles

I love homemade things.  Well, I guess every time you cook something it’s homemade, so that makes sense, but I love things that you usually buy but that you can easily make homemade.  It makes them seem so much more special, and they make great gifts.  Also, I’m bored a lot, and cooking eases the boredome.

My mom is a big fan of sweet pickles and I really like them too, especially now that the weather is warming up.  They’re a yummy, cool, crisp snack.  I found this really easy recipe on Allrecipes.com.  It’s easy.  It’s like, so easy.  If you don’t feel like clicking the link, here’s the recipe.

1 cup apple cider vinegar

1/8 cup salt (I actually used about half this and found it to be the right amount)

1 cup white sugar

1/4 teaspoon ground turmeric

1/2 teaspoon mustard seed

2 pounds cucumbers

2 sweet onions

In a small saucepan at medium-high heat, combine cider vinegar, salt, sugar, tumeric and mustard seed. Bring to a boil and let cook for 5 more minutes.
Meanwhile, slice cucumbers and onion. Loosely pack the vegetables in a 1-quart canning jar or other similarly sized container. Pour hot liquid over the vegetables in the container. Refrigerate for 24 hours and enjoy! Keep refrigerated.
I did a couple jars with spears, like this.  And then I did a jar of sandwich slices.  Those actually were even better because they absorb more of the flavor and you can put them on sammiches!
Highly recommend these tasty treats.  They are the perfect summer snack.  Buen provecho!

 

2 responses

Let me know what you think!

