Kale Chips

Kale, so hot right now.

It’s everywhere!  It’s been crowned a super food meaning that it’s super good for you.  It’s packed with vitamins and fiber and all kinds of good stuff for you.  Unfortunately, kale is a little tough.  It’s not really something you can put in a salad.  It’s kind of like if spinach and seaweed were brother and sister, kale would be their no-nonsense mom from the wrong side of the tracks, if that makes any sense.  Or even if it doesn’t.

So, to help you eat some kale and amp up your diet and vitamin intake, I’m here to show you how to make kale chips.  They’re really tasty and a good snack food that doesn’t have a lot of calories but fills you up.  The recipe is ridiculously simple, are you ready?  ARE YOU READY?

Ingredients:

Kale

Sea salt

The end!

I told you it was easy.

superstar super food.Preheat your oven to 220 degrees.  Chop the kale up into 2 inch pieces.  I didn’t use the very end of the stalk because it’s so tough.  Place the kale evenly on a cookie sheet, sprinkle with sea salt (really sprinkle, you don’t need much salt to make these flavorful) and put them in the oven for 60-70 minutes.  You can check them out and bake them for a little longer if they’re not to your liking in terms of crispiness.  I like my chips crispy.  Like…crispips or…chispies.  I don’t know what I’m saying.  Enjoy your healthy snack!

6 responses

  1. I love these. And my KIDS love these. Maybe it’s the word “chips.” But probably it’s the super-deliciousness. I usually do mine at 250 for 30 mins but I have to watch them very closely at the end. I will try the lower temp that you suggest next time!

  2. It’s crazy. This vegetable has been around forever! It is totally worthy of all the buzz however and I also cannot stop eating it! Just found your blog – looking forward to trying the chips – I’ve been obsessing over a raw salad these days. So good!

  3. I might add my wife isn’t happy. She’s been ;juicing’ 5 days. Day 1, lost 2.5 pounds, Day 2., 2.0 pounds, Day 3. 0.5 pounds, Day 4. 0. pounds, Day 5, Up 0,5 pounds. At least she’s eating healthy though, that’s the main thing. She doesn’t see it that way though..

Let me know what you think!

