Honey Glazed Carrots

Have you ever noticed that you can’t buy a small amount of carrots?  Even baby carrots come in bags of 100 or so.  It’s annoying, because usually a recipe only calls for a single carrot, and sometimes you can buy a single carrot, but usually you can’t and so to make one small pot of chicken stock you buy a pound of carrots and then you have all these carrots and it’s carrot madness!

Some people really like carrots.  I don’t really like them very much, so when I have an excess I like to think of ways I can make them tastier or just hide them from myself in whatever I’m cooking.

A friend of mine made honey glazed carrots for Thanksgiving this past year and they were so good!  I found myself thinking…hey, maybe I do like carrots.  I don’t.  But, if I like these then you can bet that they’re good.  The recipe is simple and easy (and sugar free.)

1 lb carrots (peeled and chopped regular carrots or you can just use baby carrots)

2 tbsp butter

3 tbsp honey

1 tbsp fresh lemon juice

Salt and fresh ground pepper

My photos are a little funky because I’m using my new Camera+ iPhone app and don’t really know how to exercise its full potential yet.

Okay, so, first prepare a large pot of boiling water with salt.  When the water reaches a rolling boil, add in your carrots and let them boil for about 6 minutes or until they’re tender.  Then you drain the carrots and add them back to the pot with the heat still on about medium.  Mix in the butter, honey and lemon juice.  Stir and cook the carrots for another 5 minutes.  Then add fresh ground black pepper and serve.  How easy was that?  It makes about 4 servings and if you’re doing Weight Watchers each serving is 3 points.  Enjoy!  And enjoy this weird picture of what may be carrots.

2 responses

Let me know what you think!

