Sugar-Free Coconut, Raspberry Muffins

I found these muffins in my quest for sugar-free treats and they are sooooo goooood.  I also have been looking for low/no-carb recipes for my best friend as her doctor has recently informed her that she is not to exceed 70g of carbohydrates per day.  For some perspective, a single banana has almost 40g.  Needless to say, finding yummy things, especially pastries or anything with fruit in them, is not easy.  But, huzzah!  This recipe is the best of all worlds.  Sweet baked treat, with raspberries and less than 9g of carbohydrates each.  Seriously, I did the math.

I got this recipe off another website so I’m not going to bother to repost the whole thing.  You can see the original recipe here.  I used honey for the 1/4 cup of liquid sugar substitute.  I know it doesn’t sound like a lot but but the coconut flour and the raspberries (that word is spelled so strangely) are both so naturally sweet you really don’t need much added sweetener.  So, since I’ve already given you the website for the original recipe (and just gave it to you again), I’ll just leave you with some photos of the process. OH! I almost forgot.  Resist any urge you have to add more than 1 cup of raspberries.  I added probably about 2 cups and my muffins were a little on the soggy side.  Just, fyi.

that's some sexy batter.

raaahhhspberries.

the finished product.

 Buen provecho!

Let me know what you think!

