Roasted Garlic Hummus – 2 Ways!

I think hummus is one of my favorite foods.  It’s so versatile.  You can eat it as a dip, or a sandwich spread, or a dip with a different kind of chip, or in pitas, or in dips.  It’s also totally vegan so you can serve it to pretty much anyone and it’s a good source of protein since it’s made almost entirely of chickpeas (garbanzo beans).  I used to eat it all the time the year I went temporarily insane and became a vegan. (*Note, I am not knocking vegans, I respect the sh*t out of them, I just mean that for a person like me who loves meat and cheese and milk so very much, I had to have been insane.)  But hummus is just one of those super yummy things that’s really easy to make and personalize to your own tastes.  I made roasted garlic hummus, but leave out the roasted garlic and you have plain hummus.  And add in Sriracha (Rooster sauce) and you have spicy hummus!  Etc.

Ingredients:

2 cans of cooked chickpeas (drained and washed)

1 bulb of roasted garlic (bulb, not clove see recipe for details)

2 tbsp tahini

3 tbsp EVOO

1/2 tsp kosher salt

1 lemon, juiced

Sriracha (for spicy hummus)

Paprika and chopped parsley (for garnish)

And you’re ready!  Basically, throw all those things in a food processor and blend.  You can add more olive oil or lemon juice to taste depending on how thick you want it.  Add some sriracha and make it spicy!  Or add some cilantro and make it cilantro-y.  I made a plain, spicy and spicier version, but you can really do anything you want.  The world is your hummus!  Is that right?

 

2 responses

Let me know what you think!

