Easy sugar cookies

When I started working at the DuocUC Institute here in Chile I wanted to make a good impression on my colleagues while simultaneously bribing them so that if I ever needed something they wouldn’t hesitate to help me out.  It’s weird being one of only three “gringos” working in an all Chilean environment and at first I felt a bit like an outcast.  I wasn’t sure if I was imagining it but I also felt some resentment.  Possibly because I came in with almost no teaching experience and certainly nothing resembling a credential and took jobs away from far more qualified Chilean teachers.  I can’t be sure.

Anyway, last semester I decided to combine my love of baking with my desperate need to be popular and started bringing baked goods every week.  I quickly became a favorite with anyone who came into the teacher’s lounge and it got to the point where people would ask me weekly when and what I would be bringing.  This week, I decided to make sugar cookies.

This recipe is really easy, only has a few ingredients and yields a large number of delicious, perfectly crafted cookies.  (Adapted from Allrecipes.com) Here’s what you need:

2 3/4 cups flour

1 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp baking powder

1 cup butter, softened

1 1/2 cups white sugar

1 egg

1 tsp vanilla extract

Extra sugar for rolling the dough

That’s it!

First, preheat oven to 375 degrees.  Then combine the flour, baking soda and baking powder in a small bowl.  Set it aside.

In a large bowl cream together the butter and sugar then beat in the egg and vanilla.  Add in the dry ingredients slowly, mixing well.

Roll the dough into balls and then roll in the white, granulated sugar to coat the entire ball.  Place on an ungreased baking sheet.

like this.

I like to bake them for about 7 minutes.  They come out still a little gooey, but just let them cool before moving them to a plate or paper towel.  The gooeyness becomes chewiness and that is what makes these little babies so perfect.  Enjoy!

yum.

 

One response

  1. I love making sugar cookies to bribe people at work. Errr.. I didn’t mean bribe, I meant.. uh..

    I add cinnamon (Snickerdoodle style) or brown sugar every once in a while. It makes the flavor just a little better and adds variation so my bribes (I meant to say ‘gifts’) go over better

Let me know what you think!

